Music Theory Lesson

Mode Names

Difficulty: intermediate

The Church Modes, usually referred to as just "modes," are an important musical concept to learn, because they can be building blocks for improvisational ideas and patterns. There are 7 Church Modes.

1 - Ionan

2 - Dorian

3 - Phrygian

4 - Lydian

5 - Mixolydian

6 - Aeolian

7 - Locrian

There are more modes, but many other modes are based off of these original 7, so it's important to learn them first.